Drake and Future at O. Co (Part 2)

drakeFinally, Drake came out. His set was ridiculous. He played portions of at least 50 songs, which made me feel like it was definitely worth the $85 I payed for the tickets. My favorite part of the concert was definitely the visuals. Above the perimeter of the whole main floor, there was these giant lights in spheres. When he sang Hotline Bling, these pink spheres basically fell in a pattern and really added to the effect of the song – it added to the ambience. From then on, the spheres were programmed to move in a certain design and it was definitely the coolest part of the concert.

After about an hour, Future came out and did about 5 or 6 songs with his producer. This part is when I got a little bored.  The thing with Future is that, to me, most of his songs sound very similar. I don’t really like his music the way that I like Drake’s. It just doesn’t appeal to me. I found myself just waiting for Drake to come back out.

Something that I really enjoyed was in between songs, Drake would talk about how much he loves the Bay Area and how he talked to his crew – made a bet with them – that this show would be the craziest, most hyped up crowd on the whole tour. I could tell that this banter was clearly rehearsed but, to be honest, I didn’t care. I knew that he probably said the same things at all four shows that he had in the Bay but I didn’t mind. It added a little something to the experience.

Overall, I had a very good time at this concert with my friends and it’s definitely something I look back on fondly.

